Twelve 2019 IEC Memorial scholarships available

Each year, Illinois electric cooperatives award academic scholarships to high school seniors through a memorial scholarship fund designed to financially assist deserving students in the electric cooperative family. In 2019, 12 scholarships of $2,000 each will be awarded through the Thomas H. Moore Illinois Electric Cooperative (IEC) Memorial Scholarship Program.

Six scholarships will be awarded to high school seniors who are sons or daughters of an Illinois electric cooperative member receiving service from a cooperative. A seventh scholarship, the Earl W. Struck Memorial Scholarship, will be awarded to a student who is the son or daughter of an Illinois electric cooperative employee or director. Four additional scholarships are reserved for students enrolling full-time at a two-year Illinois community college who are the sons or daughters of Illinois electric cooperative members, employees or directors.

The 12th annual scholarship, the LaVern and Nola McEntire Lineworker’s Scholarship will help pay for costs to attend the lineworker’s school conducted by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives in conjunction with Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield. Sons and daughters of co-op members; relatives of co-op employees or directors; someone already enrolled in the Lincoln Land Lineworker’s school; or individuals who have served or are serving in the armed forces or National Guard are all eligible to apply for the lineworker’s scholarship.

For more information on how to apply, contact your local electric cooperative. Information has also been shared with area high school guidance counselors.