2022 scholarship recipients announced

The Thomas H. Moore Illinois Electric Cooperatives (IEC) Memorial Scholarship Fund announced recipients for 2022. The fund has grown from initially awarding two $1,000 scholarships in 1996 to now offering 14 $2,000 scholarships.

The Illinois Community College System Foundation (ICCSF) administers the IEC Memorial Scholarship Fund.

Of the 14 annual awards, 13 are specific for high school seniors who plan to enroll in a full-time undergraduate course of study at an accredited two- or four-year college, university or vocational/technical school. Of those, eight scholarships are awarded to students who are the sons or daughters of an Illinois electric cooperative consumer-member receiving service from the cooperative. Four are reserved for students enrolling full-time at a two-year Illinois community college who are sons or daughters of Illinois electric co-op consumer-members, employees or directors.

The Earl W. Struck Memorial Scholarship is awarded to one student who is the son or daughter of an Illinois electric co-op employee or director.

One scholarship, the LaVern and Nola McEntire Memorial Lineworker’s Scholarship, is awarded to an individual to attend lineworker’s school conducted by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives in conjunction with Lincoln Land Community College (LLCC), Springfield.

The 2022 Thomas H. Moore IEC Memorial Scholarship Fund recipients are: