CFC board changes

Alan Wattles
Alan Wattles

The 53rd CFC Annual Membership Meeting held in Boston on June 20 marked the end of CFC Board President Alan Wattles’ second and final term on the board.

“When I joined the CFC board six years ago, I never could have imagined the journey I was about to embark on,” Wattles shared during his president’s report. “Over my time on the board, but especially this past year, I can tell you that CFC has been determined to get the big things right.”

Since 2002, Wattles has been the president and CEO of Monroe County Electric Cooperative, Waterloo, and served on the CFC board since 2016. He was named board president in January 2021 after the untimely passing of the former board president.

Shane Larson

During the meeting, Shane Larson, CEO of Rock Energy Cooperative, South Beloit, was elected to represent district 5 on CFC’s board of directors, replacing Wattles. Larson has been Rock Energy’s CEO since 2000. The co-op provides electric service to consumer-members in Illinois and Wisconsin, both located in district 5 along
with Iowa.

CFC was created and is owned by America’s electric cooperative network. CFC, a nonprofit financial cooperative, provides industry expertise, flexibility and responsiveness to serve the needs of almost 1,000 member-owners across 49 states. It is guided by a 23-member board of directors that represents 10 geographically defined districts.