Annual SST Conference held in Decatur

The annual Safety Supervisory Technical Conference (SST), sponsored by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives, was recently held at the Decatur Conference Center & Hotel. The SST helps to keep cooperative attendees up-to-date on changes to safety procedures and ­topics of importance to their ­positions at their electric cooperatives. This year’s ­attendees heard infor­mation including work zone safety, fall protec­tion and rescue techniques for structures, towers and poles, OSHA updates and more.

During the meeting, individual and cooperative safety leadership awards were presented. Individual safety awards were presented to Norm Dunlop, Corn Belt Energy area ­serviceman; Adam Brendsel, Corn Belt underground foreman; and Daren Deverman, manager of safety and ­forestry at Corn Belt. Individuals were nominated by their ­cooperative peers to recognize their efforts to promote a cooperative safety culture above and beyond normal safety expectations.

Cooperative safety leadership award nominations were submitted by cooperatives which were required to ­document a series of required and optional criteria to prove their ­cooperative-wide demonstration of safety awareness, leadership, culture and having exhibited safety above and beyond normal expectations.

All nominations were reviewed by an independent AIEC panel which made award recommendations.

Cooperatives that received this year’s leadership awards were Corn Belt Energy Corporation, Bloomington; Clinton County Electric Cooperative, Inc., Breese; and Tri-County Electric Cooperative, Inc., Mt. Vernon.