Illinois electric co-ops award three legislators for public service

The Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives’ (AIEC) board of directors selected three Illinois legislators to receive its 2022 Illinois Electric Cooperative (IEC) Public Service Award. The award is given annually to those who support electric cooperatives, consumer-members, and cooperative principles and through their work on key committees. 

State Senator Bill Cunningham (D-18) has been a friend of electric co-ops. He served one term in the Illinois House (2011-12) before being elected to the Illinois Senate in 2013. He serves as the assistant majority leader/president pro tempore as well as vice chair of the assignments, executive and appropriations committees. He is also a member of the energy and public utilities, agriculture, ethics, executive appointments and higher education committees.

State Senator Don Harmon (D-39) has served in the legislature since 2003 when he was first elected to the Illinois Senate and has been a friend and supporter of the electric cooperative program. He was appointed assistant majority leader in 2009, and in 2011 was named senate president pro tempore. In January 2020, his colleagues elected him to be the 39th president of the Illinois Senate. He is a member of the executive committee.

State Representative Charlie Meier (R-108) was first elected to the Illinois House in 2013. He serves as the Republican spokesperson on the agriculture and conservation and international trade and commerce committees. He is also a member of the energy and environment, mental health and addiction, human services, and appropriations-human services committees. The 108th district includes the service territory of Clinton County Electric Cooperative, Breese; Southwestern Electric Cooperative, Greenville; Egyptian Electric Cooperative Association, Murphysboro; and Tri-County Electric Cooperative, Mt. Vernon. 

Above – Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives (AIEC) CEO Duane Noland (left) and AIEC Vice President of Government Relations Nick Reitz (right) present Illinois Senate President Don Harmon with a gold hardhat as a recipient of a 2022 IEC Public Service Award.